Hello Again

Months later and I found myself writing again. I thought about giving up the blog altogether and start a new one, but sentimentality won over me and I just couldn’t say goodbye to previous posts. I have said time and again that I have the worst discipline and follow-through, and have long ago given-up on regularly posting entries, no matter how much I want to.

Nevertheless here I go again. There are also days and moments when I told myself that I will abandon writing, that perhaps it is really not my calling after all. Perhaps it is something I can never professionally do and dream of being known for; perhaps at least I have come to embrace that I will not be the next brilliant author.

Nevertheless here I still go. Still there are those quiet moments when I hear myself talking inside my head, thoughts about things that I spend my time with, places I go to and see, people I meet, stories I hear. And despite thinking that perhaps writing them down would be a waste, believing that it will give me neither glory nor the slightest sense of purpose, a nagging question convinces me otherwise, what else am I to do with these thoughts anyway but to write about them?

So here I am again. I figure what the heck, never I mind if nobody reads it or find it the least bit interesting, might as well write them anyway. If only to put these thoughts somewhere… 

So what have I been up to lately? Since my last post, I believe I still owe whoever it is that read this blog of mine my stories of America. But those can wait for a better time, I have recently help publish a book, organize an exhibit, and continuously press on for the quest of a Master’s degree.

ImageImage

 

Image

One of my favorite parts of visiting the Netherlands was getting to go to the Anne Frank Museum.

As for travel, I have been kicked-out of a bike tour in Amsterdam, had authentic Belgian waffles, and most recently visited the tomb of Job from the Bible as well as dipped my toes in actual spring water from the mountains in Salalah.

 

With the hopes of not jinxing it, I now have more time in my hands which then results to more blog posts.  

7 thoughts on “Hello Again

  1. Pamela O'Cuneen says:

    Carry on writing. I did. I would love to have done what you are doing in your blog. We’re retired now but although blogs and the INternet were not really available during most of our overseas postings, I wrote the funniest bulletins I could to friends, – to entertain them but also to keep up my own spirits in some really difficult postings. It’s therapy, but your reflections can really help other people as well coping with the surprises of culture shock.
    Now I have published a book based on those bulletins and reflections. It’s called ‘Culture Shock and Canapes’ and is doing quite well.
    So don’t stop writing.

    • diplowife says:

      Hi Pamela,

      Thank you for your encouraging words, I promise to try and keep writing. Especially seeing responses from a writer such as yourself, I’d like believe that perhaps if not at present, all these experiences will bear fruit in a form of a book as well.

      I think I have come across your book although I have yet to read it, hopefully when I find more time I can enjoy it one day. For now, I hope hear from you from time to time.

  2. Sam J. says:

    Hi Diplowife,

    I am one of those who waits for your blog posts, so never stop writing. 🙂 I’ll be a diplo-wife next year, so your posts help me prepare for what’s going to be in store for me next year. We still don’t know yet where we’re heading, so wish us luck.

    Btw, how did you manage to take your Master’s Degree? Did you take it in Oman or here in the PH?

    • diplowife says:

      Hi Manda,

      I am glad the blog is helping you. Wow, congratulations on your up-coming wedding to the Diplomat. Is he new at this career? May I ask if he is Filipino as well? If he is, who knows maybe one day we will meet each other at a post or in Manila.

      I can honestly say that for one thing your life as a Diplowife will be totally different, it is often times exciting, but also mostly can be a bit stressful as well. Also know that its not all cocktail parties and coffee meetings, however I think from my four years experience, if you do it right, you and your husband will surely find your adventure, perhaps something to even blog about as well.

      About the Masters Degree, I am currently enrolled through the Open University division of UP, under their Development Communication program. We are yet to be blessed with kids and work is elusive for a wannabe writer who moonlights as an on-call driver to an off-beat Diplomat; so I wanted to do something worth my time hehe.

    • diplowife says:

      Hi Manda,

      I am glad the blog is helping you. Wow, congratulations on your up-coming wedding to the Diplomat. Is he new at this career? May I ask if he is Filipino as well? If he is, who knows maybe one day we will meet each other at a post or in Manila.

      I can honestly say that for one thing your life as a Diplowife will be totally different, it is often times exciting, but also mostly can be a bit stressful as well. Also know that its not all cocktail parties and coffee meetings, however I think from my four years experience, if you do it right, you and your husband will surely find your adventure, perhaps something to even blog about as well.

      About the Masters Degree, I am currently enrolled through the Open University division of UP, under their Development Communication program. We are yet to be blessed with kids and work is elusive for a wannabe writer who moonlights as an on-call driver to an off-beat Diplomat; so I wanted to do something worth my time hehe.

  3. Sam J. says:

    Hi diplowife,

    Sorry, I meant by husband and I will be posted next year, so I’ll be a diplowife officially next year. Right now I’m still a wife of an FSO, hehe. Yup, he’s also a Filipino. 🙂 I can’t say what batch he’s from because some of his batchmates might get to read this, hehe.

    Anyway, I’ve been reading your blog even before my husband passed FSE. Kudos to you and your husband for staying strong. Must’ve been really tough when you guys got posted in Libya.

    Looking forward to your next posts. 🙂

Leave a comment