Visiting the U.S. of A.

One of the highlights of the year, is of course our recent visit to the great U.S. of A. Now unlike Paris, visiting America was never a plan, not even a dream. I guess it is because all the Hollywood films has kind of made you know about the US than you could possibly want, which kind of sucked out the mystery and excitement for me. I do admit that at one point in my childhood I dreamt of writing for the New Yorker and become famous as the author of books about things you don’t usually think about but is really important … but Malcolm Gladwell beat me to it.

Plus, I think, that as a friend of mine pointed out, we belong to a generation who no longer has that longing to live and strive for the “American Dream” that most of our parents’ and grandparents’ had wanted. If you are Pinoy you probably have an idea of this obsession we have to go to the “States”, if you are not, we Filipinos do. In fact coming to America is such a big deal, there is a cable tv especially catered to help some Filipinos and their quest for the elusive green card.

But like I said, now a days, that isn’t the case. In fact I know lots of friends who could go there to work, or an opportunity to study, but still opt to stay back home. Reasons are varied but if you ask me I think it is also because with the internet and information it provides, options to other places in the world can also be easily accessed and in turn weighed in as an alternative choice.

Anyway, even JG wasn’t so keen to going there either, but since most Filipinos have relatives in the US, his mom wanted to go and see some of them whom she hasn’t seen in a long time she asked if we wanted to go.  The clincher however was the opportunity to go to an American Comic Con (which my Comic fan boy of a husband would of course want to go to). As for me, they were going anyway, so might as well… plus I too have relatives there in my side of the family so it was a great opportunity to go see them as well.

Aside from sight-seeing, I had three goals in mind:

  • Sample as many sort of Burgers as I could (since the US is famous for it).
  • Buy a pair of original Levis for my Mom who has always wanted one.
  • And see Van Gogh’s Starry Night painting.

I also wanted to have breakfast at Tiffany’s, but JG did not even want to entertain the idea eating there so early in the cold and be embarrassed by his wife who would happily dress up a la Audrey Hepburn.

To find out which of them I was able to get to do and which I was left for naught, you are going to have to wait for the follow-up posts. For now I leave you with these great bronze statues which we found all around a subway station in Brooklyn. The pieces are by Tom Otterness which he entitled Life Underground.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

