Rabies Shots, Vets, and Dog Transpo Libyan Style

I took Vice to the Vet today for her rabies shot. I went there last month, a week after we got her, but when I told them she was about three months old (in the Philippines they give rabies shots to puppies even at this age), they said she was still too young for the shot I wanted so they gave her a different one to fight off diseases, and was told to come back as soon as she turns four months.

Vice, a month ago

The past month without her rabies vaccine was a little bit of a challenge since it made me paranoid every time every time she gets excited or frustrated and accidentally or purposely nips me. JG would often smirk at my distress whenever I’d ask if my latest scratch was a valid source of concern. Knowing she would possibly infect me with rabies hindered me from trying to discipline her as I think she senses my fear and often reads my hesitation (not very good if you want to establish your master status). So it takes a lot of time for me to ties her to her leash, reprimand her for eating my slippers. I read somewhere that when your dog starts to bite you, one should make like a tree ‘til she loses interest. But that technique’s really hard to do when you’re afraid she might actually bite down, plus the fact that it really hurts when she bites.

So I was looking forward to her return to the vet because after that I can no longer be afraid of her and her biting nature.

When we visited a little over a month ago, Vice could fit into a big bag and I had no problem carrying her around. She sat on my lap in the car that time. Today she has grown twice as big and would cause me to groan from the effort needed to lift her up. I again called on the services of our Libyan taxi driver and thought that we (Vice and I) will be using the back seat as she has now grown.

One month later at four months

Before I go on let me first explain a few things. First, not all Libyans are very keen of dogs, and I’ve noticed that most are afraid of them. Second, our driver friend is very particular about his cars, and the last Vice rode as a passenger, she peed on the interior.

So it did not help when I stepped out and saw our driver friend’s shinny new Lancer. I said to myself that if by chance Vice decides to relieve herself, I will probably never see my driver friend again. . But what he did shocked me a little when he popped the trunk and suggested that I carry Vice in. My first reaction was “no way”, that my dog (whom I have grown attached to) could suffocate but he assured me that she wouldn’t and that this is how they do it here in Libya.

I wasn’t surprised to hear this because once JG and I saw a man stuff a live lamb at the back of his car as if it was everyday luggage. But that lamb was to become dinner, Vice isn’t. Although I could understand, it was his car, and I was already taking advantage of his willingness to drive me to the vet with my dog (back home most taxi drivers would think twice or demand I pay more), and the clinic was only a five minute drive so in Vice went.

Along the way, amidst her whimpers, I kept on comforting her with soothing words and continued assurance that we were almost there. But at the back of my head I kept thinking that there are countries that would arrest me for what I did to my dog.

At the Vets, the doctor who usually talks to me wasn’t there and those that were there did not speak much English, so the most I could do was wait for monosyllabic instructions like, “up”, “hold”, “wait”, and “finish”(that’s two). I had a bunch of questions but they were busy with another patient, and probably did not have the patience to play sharades with me.  I also planned to take pictures of the whole thing as a remembrance and for blogging purposes, but was too busy holding down Vice because they wouldn’t do that for you. They were nice and efficient; they weren’t just the hands on type. Did I mention that the clinic is an all female team?

Unless she gets sick, Vice only needs to go back next year for another booster shot. But I plan to come back next week to have her sharp nails clipped, buy her a new leash, and buy shampoo for possible fleas – but that’s a different story altogether.



3 Comments Add yours

  1. Nadia says:

    Good day

    I have a question, i want to take my dog from Holland to Libya,
    Now i hear al different kind of things like i need promission from libya etc.

    I know i need to give her, her vaccinations and her chip, but what more do i need 2 get her in Libya?

    Can you please help me? because my travel agent told me about the vaccinations that i already know but what about Libya??
    Do i need something from them also?

    Thankssss Greetings Nadia

    1. diplowife says:

      Hi Nadia,

      If I am not mistaken, they said it isn’t that hard, although I have also been hearing many changes with regards to the requirements in bringing a pet. For example, if I’m not mistaken some sort of permission from the proper officials. But I still have to ask around. When will you be moving? I’ll try to give you a better answer in a couple of days.

      Diplowife

  2. Greatly Skeptical says:

    Vice looks incredibly cute! Hmm, stuffing a dog in the trunk of a car in ‘some’ countries is considered a crime punishable not only by a fine but by imprisonment, even if it’s just for 5 minutes, I guess it’s different everywhere. In some countries, animals have rights that are strictly upheld. But I’m glad that Vice came out ok and he got the shot that he needed.
    And I can appreciate your apprehension and anxiety about Vice’s well-being throughout his ordeal in going to the vet, and definitely how it must have torn at your heart, and you were so great to have been able to comfort him the only way you could which was to talk to him all the way while he must have been so nervous and uncomfortable inside the trunk.
    But thanks for letting me know that things may be uncomfortable for my dog in Libya, I’ll be sure to tick it off my vacation travel list in the future…wink wink…=)..my heart would just break if dog would ever be in the same predicament, even if it were for a few seconds, I don’t think I’d be as strong.

    As for clipping nails can’t you do it yourself? There’s a type that’s not really clippers but are more like nail files, and dogs find that more comforting and so they don’t struggle too much. It’s much safer because it’s less likely you’ll reach the vein that’s at the inside of the nail which can bleed if you clip too deep. (You still have to be careful about the pressure you apply tho’). You might want to check some reviews and see if it’s right for you, some don’t like the slightest noise, other’s don’t mind. (Just thought I can save you some trips to the vet with Vice with the nail file solution)

    http://doghealth1.com/pedi-paws-product-review/

    Also, you might want to consider a body vest/leash, we find it doesn’t tug against the throat and gives support to the chest area more when you do have to tug and pull for restraint.

Leave a Reply

