Changes Since Last Entry

It has been a long time since my last entry and I wish I could say that I have a good reason as to why I haven’t been writing, but I don’t. Don’t get me wrong, I do have a “good”, suitable excuse why I haven’t been able to update my blog, it’s just that my reason isn’t a “good”, positive one. In fact my reason is a bit traumatic, an experience I hope and pray to never go through again. I, however cannot tell you my reason, JG said that it is best that we just keep it to ourselves as it, I agree, a bit too personal.

So anyway, a lot has happened since my last post. First off, I have stopped working. Although I enjoyed my work very much, previous events has lead JG and me to decide that it is again for the best that I just stayed at home. I must be honest in saying that I will miss my work a great deal, albeit it short lived, it has given me the confidence that I was looking for, and the needed practice for my skills. Also my job has led me to see more of Libya, and learn about its culture, but most importantly, I met new friends, one in particular that I hope to maintain even after we leave years from now.

It can be a bit boring at home, but I suppose this will be a good time for me to pursue some other things I’ve wanted to do. Some of them include, continue learning Arabic, buying a new sewing machine and learn dressmaking, and since summer is around the corner I want to finally fulfill a long time dream, learn how to swim. Although my Libyan friend said that I would be dreaming to find a place where they teach adult women to swim here in Tripoli, so I still have to work that out some more; but I haven’t lost all hope.

But what most occupies my time these days, is the new member of our family. No it is not what you think. Close, but no. We recently adopted a puppy. We are not sure if she’s (yes a girl) a Labrador Retriever, we think she is, but another friend suggests that she might be a Chowmix. As in my previous post, one of the things JG has influenced me to is the love for dogs, we have two wonderfully adorable dogs back home in the Philippines, but shipping them here might be too expensive so for now they have to stay there even though we miss them dearly. Anyway, we (or more accurately, JG) named our new dog, Vice after his title in the embassy as Vice Consul. I still haven’t fully grasped JG’s absurd sense of humor, anyway thus the name. Vice (I mean the dog) is only 3 months old and is starting to become a handful, and she really tests my patience most of the time, but I am really trying hard not to lose it and be patient in training her to be a good dog.

Actually, I think of taking care of the dog as a test program. Although we have two dogs before Vice, truth is, my mother-in-law, who is a huge dog lover, takes care of most of the responsibility with our dogs. So this is the first time that I would really take on, really taking care of a dog all by myself. When I said I think of it as a test program, I taught this would be an opportunity to see if I am responsible enough, that if perhaps I do well with her, then maybe I can be a confident mother someday. I know, a dog is entirely different from a child, but this is as close as I can get to a trial run to test if I can be capable of nurturing someone –or in this case, something. And I have to say that it has been no walk in the park so far; she has dug up at least four huge holes in my garden, almost done eating an entire wooden spatula, and she gives a whole new meaning to bath time.  Every time I lose my patience with her, I ask myself, if this would be my reaction when it comes to our would-be children? I’ll be posting more of her, and my efforts to become a good mother to her in future posts, since she will probably be the most interesting thing to chat about in my life these days.

Vice, does she look like a Labrador Retriever to you?

So far, that’s how it is for me…

4 thoughts on “Changes Since Last Entry

  1. Hello there fellow diplo wife! Being a housewife is anything but boring, if there are many things you’d like to learn! I don’t seem to have enough hours of the day! Good thing you got a dog! My american friend, a child psychologist, once told me that a dog is the perfect first child. Seeing as how we spoiled ours, we are now trying to learn how to “train” him. Which I am sure will somehow help with the real ones later on.

    I finally started my own blog as well. I am sure you’ll realize who I am after reading it. But no names please, as I am choosing to keep it anonymous, for many personal reasons. Do email me at thediplomaticwife@gmail.com & keep in touch!

    1. Hello Diplomatic Wife!

      Thanks for the comment. Yes there are a lot of things that I have to learn as far as being a diplowife is concerned, and that keeps the boredom at bay.

      The dog is a work in progress, and I have a long long long way to go. As for using it as a training ground for child rearing, I’m starting to avoid comparing it that way, et’s just say I’m glad a baby will not bite and scratch when frustrated and will not learn to run around when there are guests (well at least until it can learn how to walk).

      Glad about the blog, I love the entries on food and the thing that happens to your toe from wearing heels.

      Regards,
      Fellow Diplowife

Leave a Reply

