Around the Old City

It’s been a long while since I last posted something, January was a bit of a slow month for me, but by the end of it started to pick up – starting with a little trip long over due.

JG and I have been wanting to go around the Old City since we came to Libya, it was after a few minutes from where we live, and should’ve been the first that we went to before going to farther places. But I suppose the mundane necessities of life got us sidetracked so what was suppose to be done a week or two after we arrived took six months.

Anyway, we hitched a ride with one of JG’s staff who took us to the Fist Market every Saturday morning. From there we walked towards the Arch of Marcus Aurelius. JG is the history geek between the two of us, so I’m not very familiar with the facts, I just know that the arch dates back from about 160 AD and that it is a remnant of a the might of the roman army. And since I am not very familiar about the history and background behind the well-preserved archeological artifact, it is easy to assume that I wouldn’t find it interesting. However, what I find fascinating about it is the fact that one can find an ancient treasure surrounded by a developing city. I always thought that preserving such artifacts means showing value for the past and the history, what it teaches or reminds us, and for your culture and in some ways who you are and where you come from. That way you have strong sense of identity and are able to gauge at how far you’ve come, even by just keeping an old monument standing. Some places, some people don’t have that because they get so caught up in moving forward and keeping up with everybody else, and end up confused and lost because they forgot where they started. I am over thinking it I know, but that’s why I appreciate such things.

Anyway, around the arch are nice hotels and restaurants that you can go to. Most of them weren’t open yet so we just continued walking. Also surrounding the arch are small pathways that lead inside the Old City. I was afraid that it was going to be surrounded by people and we wouldn’t be able walk around because we’d make the people living inside uncomfortable, but it was quiet at times even empty. Perhaps the residents were still asleep of our somewhere, and the people we often passed by are even friendly and just let you be. It was nice to be able to slowly walk around and look at the old style and architecture within the walls.

One of the nice surprises we found inside was an old Catholic church. JG’s mom who was with us came inside for a short prayer so I was able to take a picture.

Aside from the Old French and British Consulate, there were also these cobbled residential streets that made you think of Europe or Italy.

After which we came around wall outside the Museum, to what they call here in Tripoli as Cornish. I dare say that I seemed to have noticed a lot of couples and some families either sitting or walking around the big pond. There were a bit of mosquitoes there, and I wondered why they weren’t bothered, perhaps they were too happy in each other’s company to care.

Since I’ve been there a couple of times, I took JG and his mom to Babalhiriya, amidst the souks and shops that sold everything from scarves to toys, from spices to rugs, to jewelries of shapes and sizes.

A few more minutes of walking and picture takings being the Filipinos that we are (and Filipinos love taking pictures), we ended our tour to have a nice fancy buffet lunch at the Corinthia Hotel. I personally enjoyed it, especially the sushi bar and fresh fresh oysters, fish, and corn (don’t ask why).

So there, my first trip around the Old City, there are still more places in it that we haven’t explored like the Mosques, the restaurants, and the museum; not to mention the other alleys were they say is the best place to buy souvenirs and Mediterranean trinkets of all sorts. So I plan to come back, maybe a few times more…

Leave a Reply

