Ramadan Blues

ramadan_1

Currently experiencing my first Ramadan here in Libya, and I wish I could tell you that it has been an enriching experience for me. All I can tell you is that if there was not much recreational activity during regular days, there is much less now. But of course I can understand that Ramadan is their tradition as a Muslim country and I respect that. It’s just that it is much harder to do some things now since most businesses are closed during the day, and only opens around 9 PM.

Since JG and I have yet to get our own car (and I must say that having one is something of a necessity here, I believe), we either have to walk to the nearest grocery or must be at the mercy of embassy staff to drive us around. We usually go with JG’s boss’ household staff on Saturdays when she does the grocery, but since its Ramadan I wonder how we are going to go about that? It would be nice to get a chance to see Tripoli at night, especially during Ramadan.

Tripoli_by_night

Here’s a link that best describes Libya as they celebrate Ramadan this year:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/blogs/pm/2008/09/michael_buchanan_is_in_libya_a.shtml

Leave a Reply

